Food, an unhealthy obsession.

We need food to give us the essential nutrients that our cells need to survive. Everyday our body uses up energy and we replace that energy by eating food. With out food you will not have the energy to perform day to day activities. So try as we might, we are not going to get away with simply abstaining from food.

In fact, the more I try to stay away from food, the more I tend to get cravings. The cravings are never for things that are good for me, they are things that I know are not the best choice I could be making. My rational self understands, but evidently there is another part of my brain that disagrees completely. No matter how many times I make the “I will not eat things that are bad for my health” resolution, I eat it anyway.
Eating anything bursting with fat and sugar helps me forget my feelings of inadequacy , or whatever the emotion of the moment is, if only for that moment. Any one of a million emotions are enough to make me look at cake, cookies, pie, anything sweet really, as my friend. Although I have a big support system and it is readily available, nothing works quite as well, at least for a moment, as food. Or so my head tells me.

This unwilling willingness to eat what I know I should not, breeds a sense of failure that grows with every bit I take. So the next step is always the promise of a new and failure proof diet. When the diet once again fails (and it always does), the feelings of failure resurface but stronger than the last time. F
Where does that come from? Does this sound familiar? The cycle of addiction. Pain, eating to numb the pain, feeling shame, eating to numb the pain from the shame of eating and so on and so forth again and again. This cycle can’t and won’t be broken unless the original pain is healed and the void is filled with something other than food. The original pain and the gaping void must be filled with God.

There are so many opinions and sources of information on the subject of why we overeat and why we feel we HAVE to, that it is hard to know exactly what to do. This lead me to come to the conclusion that since I am an individually unique person the answer to my issues with food were best fought with a individually unique fight plan.The thing is, this individually unique way to fight may look different for all of us but make no mistake, there is only one person who can successfully serve as our fight leader, God.

I have found that this is a daily fight and some days the plan needs to be adjusted and refined. But that is ok, the answer ALWAYS lies in scripture and prayer. The only way to know the correct path is to stay focused on God and to listen intently to what He is saying.

It helps to become educated as to what healthy eating really means. You may need to consult with a dietitian or nutritionist to come up with a healthy plan of eating. However, to be truly successful you need to go beyond what food is healthy and what food is not. The basic premise of any goal of eating healthy should come from 1 Corinthians 10:31. “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

My plan starts with and rests on being absolutely confident that God wants me to live life to the fullest and that I need to live that life the size that His brilliant hand designed me To be.
I truly believe that living in the land of plenty like we do, we have forgotten what “full” feels like. I have found that a difference in the amount of food I eat can be had if I stop eating when I am gently full. Sure I could eat that extra four or five bites of buttery mashed potatoes or the extra half slice of bread but when I finally stop I am not gently full but stuffed to the brim. I am learning to eat only until I am just satisfied. I find that if I stop and take a rest from eating, more often than not, I do not really want the remnants that are left on my plate. We have also gotten into the bad habit of knowing and eating only when we are truly hungry.

I found the following piece of information in a magazine article and it is a great reminder. “ The next step is to practice listening to your body and be led by the Spirit to distinguish between hunger and appetite. Hunger is a physical sensation that signals the body’s need for food. Appetite is a habitual desire for some gratification, either of the body or of the mind, that has nothing to do with true physical hunger. Hunger looks to food to satisfy an appropriate physical need. Appetite looks to food to satisfy emotional needs. Our hunger can be satisfied with food’ however, our appetite is insatiable and can never be satisfied.”

It is only when God’s word is read and executed that emotional and spiritual healing comes about.

Everything is permissible”—but not everything is beneficial… (l Corinthians 10:23, New International Version)
Jesus answered, “It is written, Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God” Matt: 4:4

Dottie
……………and so I ride

Leave a Reply

