Challenge Day 8

Speaking to your situation

Something I learned Friday about this challenge surprised me. Cathie said that a full thirty percent of the challengers would not show back up come Monday. I don’t know why that surprised me given that up to now I was usually counted in that statistic.

I guess it also proves true another statement that she threw out there for us to ponder. It separates those who wish they were healthier from those who are committed to becoming healthier. OUCH!

The definition of commitment is a promise to be loyal to something.
I have been pretty good at healthy lip service in the past but at the end of the day, the evidence is plain for all to see. I would say that I certainly wished I was thinner but I was not willing to throw down a commitment to see that it happened. So am I willing to make a commitment to be loyal to something, the something in question being me?

I read a really good explanation of commitment. “Commitment is the difference between excellence and mediocrity.” It is only when we commit that we can know success. I know it seems a huge sacrifice but commitment to a healthy lifestyle and being fit does not have to mean deprivation and starvation.

God will bless you as you honor your Commitment to Him. Let’s start here, a healthy lifestyle holds no place for negative self talk. Today the challenge for us was no more negative speaking of yourself and your abilities.

Everything doesn’t have to be black and white, if you aren’t perfect you are a failure. That is not true, look for the middle ground. You are made in God’s image, you cannot be that bad.

Quit looking for only negatives, if you look honestly you will find many positives. Did you know that according to the Mayo Clinic, negative self-talk can induce physical and emotional stress that causes harm to your cardiovascular system, the health of your gut and your immune system. If that isn’t incentive enough to cut the negativity I don’t know what is.

Talk about a worthy commitment, tell yourself that you will compliment yourself when you would normally tear yourself down, and then do it. Turn your negative thoughts and speech into a prayer.

When a negative thought plops itself in your head. Put some volume to a positive word, speak it loud and clear. Words will override thoughts every time!!! If you speak it often enough, you will come to believe it.

Let your prayer be, Lord give me the strength to take every thought into captivity. Help me to battle negative thoughts and replace them with truth. Come along side me as I endeavor to fulfill this commitment to you. Amen.

2 Corinthians 10:5 (NIV)

5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Dottie
……and so I rideimage

Leave a Reply

