Proverbs 14:1

“The wise woman builds her house, but the foolish pulls it down with her hands”

A devotional I was reading this morning asked us what our house was built on. Remember the story of the Three Little Pigs? One had a straw house that was easily blown down. One had a stick house and that one was also blown apart. However, the third house was solidly built of bricks and stood sound and solid in the midst of the storm.

It makes me think of my temple, my body. Do my eating habits affect my body structure? Of course they do. I am only as strong and healthy as the food I put into it.

I don’t think I like the visual I get from imagining (or looking in the mirror) a body formed with Potato Chips, mashed potatoes, Twinkies, Chocolate Cupcakes (you know, the ones with the white squiggle down the middle) and sofa pop.

A much better image would result from lean protein, fruits and vegetables. It again boils down to the choices we make. We can obey our cravings and end up with a whole host of medical problems and terrible self esteem and no self image. Or we can chose healthy food as the foundation of our diets and slowly watch as our bodies turn from straw and sticks to bricks.

Dottie

……….and so I ride

Leave a Reply

