I have been working on my life mission. This is part of what I have come up with. It is a long read but very, very relevant. Hang with me to the end. You will not regret it. 
Do you have a life vision, or are you winging it?
Life as we perceive it. Oh what a difference the right perspective can make. 
Let’s think about how we want our days to look versus how they really are.
I open my eyes and savor the peaceful feeling that surrounds me as I start my day. I am refreshed, well rested and ready to embark on an extraordinary day. 

Or

I hit the snooze button as many times as allowed, I obsess because my body aches and I grumble and moan as I roll out of bed. I feel defeated before I have even gotten out of bed. ___________ 
I spend quiet time with my Lord, writing or reading my devotions. I let God fill me and listen as He gives me guidance for my day. I willingly absorb His plan for me, I feel well equipped to journey forth into what He will allow into my life today. 
Or
I make a list of things I have to get done today. I let the overwhelming feeling engulf me as I think to myself that there is not time in this day to get all this done. I start planning shortcuts and excuses for my inevitable failings. 
____________
My husband and I spend our enjoyable and beneficial morning time doing a devotional. We pray together and ask God to take the cares we have, to delegate our tasks and responsibilities effectively and efficiently with the ease and confidence born only from Him. 
Or
My husband and I tolerate each other this morning as we try to get a grasp on how in the world we are ever going to make it through another hectic and chaotic day. We take our places in two separate rooms so that we can drown our already numb minds in the worldly events playing out on our favorite news shows. 
_____________
Breakfast is a healthy assortment of grains, vegetables and fruits, with the occasional hearty traditional meal of eggs and turkey bacon. We enjoy the energy that eating right gives us and have a feeling of pride in taking care of our bodies. I have spent time organizing a healthy diet for us and thank God for the gift of healthy food to eat each day. 
Or
As soon as it can be decided which of us is running to the local fast food joint for our GreasyMcMuffin we sit down to brown paper bags of fast food. Or we grab our favorite box of sugared cereal and milk and pride ourselves on the fact that at least it isn’t GreasyMcMuffins again. 
______________
I head to the gym and exercise my body. Whether I have chosen to walk, swim or work on machines, I enjoy the good feeling of stretching, sweating and strengthening my body every day. I bask in the knowledge that I have developed discipline and willingness. I have treasured friends that I connect with at the gym and enjoy our relationship as we share stories about our health, our lives, our children or just about anything that is on our minds. I love relaxing in the hot tub after my workout and I thank God for the gift of excellent health. 
Or

I drag myself kicking and screaming into the gym. I think about my options for a workout this morning and carefully calculate which one will be easiest while looking like I have given my absolute all (without really doing so). I keep my eyes on the ground as I head to my destination, I certainly don’t want anyone interjecting themselves into my exercise bubble. It is hard enough to get here and to subject myself to sweat but to have to deal with other peoples sweat is asking just a little to much. 
_______________
As I am driving to work I listen to praise and worship music or a message from a favorite pastor.I am filled with peace and feel His presence. I am looking forward to my work day because I enjoy making a difference in my clients lives. 
Or
I am driving to work and am yet again having to deal with the maniacs on the road with me. Stop lights are a challenge as it is hard to stay in my car and not jump out and put these bozo’s in their place. The horn gets a good workout on my morning drive to work. How dare they think they can drive like they do when I am sharing the road with them. It is hard to keep my eyes on the road when I have to finish putting on my makeup and stuffing my face with the last bit of GreasyMcMuffin. I have to get fifteen texts off to my kids to make sure they are organized for their day and get one last phone call into my husband to tell him to try to have a great day even though it will be a challenge. 

______________
My work day progresses smoothly and without incident. I feel confident that God is with me and I am confident in my abilities. I am well equipped to handle the responsibilities my employer has entrusted to me. I feel pride in what I do. I feel love, compassion and empathy for those I help. I feel comfortable with my co-workers and feel the mutual respect we hold for each other. I enjoy the give and take relationship I have with them and it gives me confidence in my work situation. 
Or
I steel myself for yet another trying day with the clowns I work with. If only everyone was as smart, efficient, and overly qualified as I am. I make up my mind that my work day is going to go as planned no matter what I have to do. I make sure that I have my arsenal at my disposal, grit my teeth and get on with another dreary day at work. 
________________

Before going home I give thought to my husbands and my needs so we can enjoy a God filled, enjoyable evening together. I stop at the grocery store for an enjoyable yet efficient grocery run. I select a nutritious variety of foods for our supper, savoring the thought of cooking for the two of us. I thank God that I have an endless supply of healthy, nutritious food. 
Or
I give fleeting thought to what hubby and I will need to endure yet another mindless night at home. I decide that it is survival of the fittest and skip the grocery store. It is filled with morons at this time of day anyway. If hubby and I end up in a stand off we can always visit one of the fast food joints stored in our GPS. He is a big boy, let him forage a bit. We will only end up in our separate rooms watching our separate television shows anyway. 
_______________
Our perceptions can make or break our lives. We are what we think. Our actions reveal our minds. Take some time to visualize your days and your life as you would like them to be. Then write it down, re-read it as often as necessary. I praise God and realize what a privilege it is to make every decision based on an awareness of God’s love for me and the knowledge of His presence in my life. I CHOOSE TO thank God for His presence in my life and I bask in His goodness and mercy. Life is Good if I CHOOSE to perceive it that way and if I perceive it that way, I make it that way. 
____________

I CHOOSE TO 

LIVE FROM THE ABUNDANT PLACE

THAT I AM LOVED


Dottie

……….and so I ride

Leave a Reply

